About the City Neighborhood Council

The City Neighborhood Council (CNC) is a citizen-led advisory group, comprised of elected members from each of the City’s 13 Districts, originally organized under the authority of Seattle City Council Resolution 27709 (Establishment of Neighborhood Planning and Assistance Program) in October, 1987. Subsequent resolutions have refined or altered this initial resolution. They are Resolution 28115 (Amendment to Promote Diversity) December, 1989; Resolution 28948 (Neighborhood District Representation on the City Neighborhood Council) in July, 1994; and Resolution 29015 (City/Community Partnership) October, 1994.  An executive order and resulting resolution dissolved the relationship with the city on December 31st 2016.

The CNC's purpose is to provide city-wide coordination for the Neighborhood Matching Fund, Neighborhood Budget Prioritization, and Neighborhood Planning programs.

The CNC also provides a forum for a discussion of common neighborhood issues and is available for advice on policies necessary for the effective and equitable implementation of the Neighborhood Planning and Assistance Program. Its monthly meetings are open to the public.

*Copies of these resolutions are available in hard copy at the Department of Neighborhoods by contacting Wendy Watson at wendy.watson@seattle.gov or 206-684-0719.

Executive Committee

2016-2017 Officers
Co-Chairs: Catherine Weatbrook, Laine Ross
Vice Chair: Ralph Weathers
Secretary:Troy Meyers

Committee Chairs
Neighborhood Matching Fund Committee Co-Chairs: Laine Ross, Catherine Weatbrook
Neighborhood Planning and Land Use Committee Co-Chairs: Irene Wall, Kathryn Keller
Budget Committee Chair: Amanda Kay Helmick
Transportation Committee Co-Chairs: John Zilavy, Rachel Eagan
Youth, Schools and Education Committee Chair: Eden Mack


Neighborhood Districts and District Councils

The city is divided into 13 neighborhood districts. These districts grew out of a 1987 Seattle City Council resolution to promote, support, and involve citizen participation at the neighborhood level. Each district has a District Council which is comprised of representatives from community councils, nonprofit organizations and business districts. The councils provide a forum for consideration of concerns and for the sharing of ideas for solutions to common problems. To ensure that city programs and services are responsive and reflective of the needs and values of its neighborhoods, field staff known as Neighborhood District Coordinators serve as the community’s liaison and resource.

Individual District Coordinators support District Councils. Here are the representatives:

South Region Team
Southwest - Kerry Wade
Southeast - TBD
Delridge - Kerry Wade
Greater Duwamish - TBD

Central Region Team
Central & Downtown - Yun Pitre/Laurie Ames
Queen Anne/Magnolia - Laurie Ames
Lake Union - Tim Durkan
East District - Tim Durkan

North Region Team
Ballard & Northwest - Thomas Whittemore
Northeast - Karen Ko
North - Christa Dumpys